Implisense Research

Current project: Customer Prediction Platform (CPP)

Even today, most people still work in B2B marketing with few data points to segment potential customers and address them correctly. Typical data points for segmentation are branch affiliation, turnover or number of employees. However, these dimensions are hardly suitable for assessing unknown companies according to their affinity for their own products and services. This is a major problem, as companies increasingly rely on content marketing to generate inbound leads and have to evaluate these prospects in order to allocate them correctly.

The Customer Prediction Platform (CPP) is a new middleware to be developed for the evaluation of corporate customers on their customer potential. These evaluations are made available to various end applications via an application programming interface (API). The end applications include the systems widely used in B2B marketing, such as those from SAP, Salesforce and Microsoft Dynamics.

Classification of companies according to size classes with CPP

The CPP addresses a number of user problems, because

  • it is increasingly relying on inbound marketing to attract new potential customers, and how difficult it is to evaluate unknown companies with internal data
  • the retrieval of publicly available data on companies is frustrating for the users of CRM systems and can be automated to a large extent as a service
  • it is not a matter of collecting undirected information about corporate customers, since these are usually not evaluable by the end users and quickly lead to an overload
  • the availability of internal data on customers and prospects often does not allow reliable analyses of customer value (e.g. according to ABC analyses) without having to carry out costly data cleansing and enrichment.

Meanwhile, a large amount of public information about companies is generated on the Internet, which can be used for ad hoc evaluation of individual companies by including open data (regional data, sector reports, financial data) to form a new type of data basis. The requirement for this is that technologies are used which can automatically process a structured information basis for automated analysis from previously unstructured data, e.g. from websites, job advertisements or press articles.

In order to implement the CPPs, which are designed to ensure the future growth of Implisense and enable us to position ourselves in international competition, we have three objectives for further technical development:

  1. Analysis: Improvement of methods of forecasting of target customers
  2. Integration: Easier integration into existing CRM solutions
  3. Internationalization: Transferring the solution to other countries and languages

This project was co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund (EFRE).

Completed research projects

European Company Explorer Platform (ECEP)

Project description: The open data project by Implisense funded by ODINE. With ECEP you are able to search for any arbitrary company properties on company websites in Europe. Analyze and compare the latest company trends in different regions and industries. And the best is, you can download the results for free! The beta version is now available for United Kingdom.

Project website: https://ecep.implisense.com/

Project duration: May 2016 – October 2016

Linked Value Chain Data (LUCID)

Project description: In LUCID we research and develop on Linked Data technologies in order to allow partners in supply chains to describe their work, their company and their products for other participants. This allows for building distributed networks of supply chain partners on the Web without a centralized infrastructure. LUCID is funded by the german Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in KMU-innovativ: Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien initiative, which part of the IKT 2020 – Forschung für Innovation funding programme.

Project website: http://www.lucid-project.org/

Project duration: October 2014 – September 2016

Insights into the German corporate landscape

As Data Scientists we are always interested in new, perhaps surprising insights into a company landscape and the behaviour of companies.

From time to time, we process the results of our internal experiments to share them with you. Some of them have been so well received that we have integrated it into the software. Other things are exciting on their own and therefore remain an experiment in the lab.

Where are farms affected by storms?

For an insurance company, it can be interesting to know companies that are affected by storms. This could be helpful, for example, in the sale of insurance policies that cover corresponding losses. As part of a pilot project, we have geolocated 1,300 farms with outdoor facilities and assigned current weather data to them, which indicate wind force. This results in a real-time wind map (see figure).

Windkarte für 1.300 Agrarbetriebe

What were the reasons for outages according to fire brigade reports?

Feuerwehreinsatzkarte 2012

It was tested to bring the operations of fire brigades from Germany in 2012 in relation to the geographically neighboring companies to understand reasons for business disruptions.From this question an interactive application was developed, which provides information about focal points and individual incidents. In addition to the thematic sorting and the location of the inserts, a heat map was used as a calendar that clearly shows when potential business interruptions are to be expected.

Which statistically significant terms are used in a branch?

The illustration uses the Reingold-Tilford algorithm to illustrate the statistically significant terms of companies belonging to an industry. The figure shows only the 20 most important terms from selected industries. Information on how to create these images with the D3.js visualization can be found here. More information on the dynamic industry classification can be found here.

How many events with effective date took place on a daily basis on the 2 million companies listed in the Commercial Register in 2012?

You can call up the daily values of the 500,000 individual values if you hold the mouse pointer over a calendar day. You can also access the embedded page via the following link: Heatmap. If you can’t see a picture, your browser is not HTML5 compatible. Here you can view a statistic version.

The commercial register has just over half a million dates for 2012, when changes relevant to the commercial register will come into effect for registered companies. On 20.12.2012 alone, there will be more than 3,000 per day. From such an overview it can be deduced that many trigger events should occur around March and December. During these periods, you should be prepared for changes in your own customers and partners.

For information on how to create this picture with Mike Bostock’s D3. js, click here.

3.8 million companies in one chart

How are 3.8 million businesses distributed among German districts and independent cities? We’ve interrogated and visualized the data from the Federal and State Statistical Offices:

The above illustration uses D3’s Pack Layout Algorithm for a representation of the 3,810,594 companies (31.12.2009) according to districts and independent cities.It is immediately apparent which degree of concentration is present in the metropolises of the Republic. The data come from the Federal Statistical Office.

Implisense Research

Aktuelles Projekt: Customer Prediction Platform (CPP)

Auch heute noch arbeiten die meisten Personen im B2B­-Marketing mit wenigen Datenpunkten, um potenzielle Kunden zu segmentieren und richtig zu adressieren. Typische Datenpunkte zur Segmentierung sind die Branchenzugehörigkeit, Umsatz oder Mitarbeiteranzahl. Diese Dimensionen sind allerdings kaum geeignet, um bislang unbekannte Firmen nach ihrer Affinität zu den eigenen Produkten und Leistungen zu bewerten. Das ist ein großes Problem, da Unternehmen zunehmend durch Content Marketing auf die Gewinnung von Inbound Leads setzen und diese Interessenten bewerten müssen, um sie richtig zuzuordnen.

Die so genannte  Customer Prediction Platform (CPP) ist eine neu zu entwickelnde Middleware zur Bewertung von Firmenkunden auf deren Kundenpotenzial. Diese Bewertungen werden über eine standardisierte Schnittstelle (API) verschiedenen Endanwendungen zur Verfügung gestellt. Zu den Endanwendungen gehören die in der Praxis weit verbreiteten Systeme im B2B­-Marketing, etwa von SAP, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics.

Die CPP adressiert damit eine Reihe von Anwenderproblemen, da

  • zunehmend auf die Gewinnung neuer Interessenten durch Inbound­Marketing gesetzt wird  und dabei klar wird, wie schwierig eine Bewertung unbekannter Firmen mit internen Daten ist
  • die Recherche von ohnehin öffentlich verfügbaren Daten zu Firmen für die Anwender von  CRM-­Systemen frustrierend und zu großen Teilen als Service automatisierbar ist
  • es nicht darum geht, ungerichtet Informationen über Firmenkunden zu sammeln, da diese  zumeist von den Endanwendern nicht auswertbar sind und schnell zu einer Überlastung  führen
  • die Verfügbarkeit interner Daten zu Kunden und Interessenten häufig keine belastbaren Analysen der Kundenwertigkeit (z. B. nach ABC­Analysen) ermöglichen, ohne aufwändige Datenbereinigungen und Datenanreicherungen durchzuführen.

Währenddessen entstehen im Internet eine Vielzahl öffentlicher Informationen zu Firmen, die durch den Einbezug von Open Data (Regionaldaten, Branchenreports, Finanzdaten) zu einer neuartigen Datengrundlage für die ad hoc-­Bewertung einzelner Firmen nutzbar sind. Die Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass Technologien eingesetzt werden, die aus vormals unstrukturierten Daten, z. B. von Websites, Jobanzeigen oder Presseartikeln automatisiert eine strukturierte Informationsbasis für die maschinelle Analyse aufbereiten können.

Zur Umsetzung der CPP, die das zukünftige Wachstum von Implisense sicherstellen und die Positionierung im internationalen Wettbewerb ermöglichen soll, sehen wir drei Zielsetzungen in der  technischen Weiterentwicklung:

  1. Analyse: Verbesserung der Methoden der Vorhersage von Zielkunden
  2. Integration: Einfachere Integration in bestehende CRM­-Lösungen
  3. Internationalisierung: Übertragung der Lösung auf weitere Länder und Sprachen

Dieses Projekt wurde kofinanziert durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE).

Abgeschlossene Forschungsprojekte

European Company Explorer Platform (ECEP)

Projektbeschreibung (Englisch): The open data project by Implisense funded by ODINE. With ECEP you are able to search for any arbitrary company properties on company websites in Europe. Analyze and compare the latest company trends in different regions and industries. And the best is, you can download the results for free! The beta version is now available for United Kingdom.

Projektwebseite: https://ecep.implisense.com/

Projektdauer: Mai 2016 – Oktober 2016

Linked Value Chain Data (LUCID)

Projektbeschreibung (Englisch): In LUCID we research and develop on Linked Data technologies in order to allow partners in supply chains to describe their work, their company and their products for other participants. This allows for building distributed networks of supply chain partners on the Web without a centralized infrastructure. LUCID is funded by the german Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in KMU-innovativ: Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien initiative, which part of the IKT 2020 – Forschung für Innovation funding programme.

Projektwebseite: http://www.lucid-project.org/

Projektdauer: Oktober 2014 – September 2016

Einsichten in die deutsche Firmenlandschaft

Als Data Scientists interessieren wir uns immer wieder für neue, vielleicht überraschende Einsichten in eine Firmenlandschaft und das Verhalten von Firmen.

Von Zeit zu Zeit bereiten wir Ergebnisse unserer internen Experimente auf, um sie mit Ihnen zu teilen. Einiges davon hat so positive Resonanz erbracht, dass wir dieses in die Software integriert haben. Anderes ist nur für sich genommen spannend und bleibt daher ein Experiment im Lab.

Wo sind landwirtschaftliche Betriebe von Stürmen betroffen?

Für eine Versicherung kann es interessant sein, Betriebe zu kennen, die von Stürmen betroffen sind. Das könnte z.B. im Verkauf von Versicherungen hilfreich sein, die entsprechende Schäden abdecken. Im Rahmen eines Pilotprojekts haben wir exemplarisch 1.300 landwirtschaftliche Betriebe mit Außenanlagen geolokalisiert und aktuelle Wetterdaten zugeordnet, die Windstärken angeben. Daraus resultiert eine Echtzeit-Windkarte (siehe Abbildung).

Windkarte für 1.300 Agrarbetriebe

Was waren Gründe für Betriebsunterbrechungen laut Feuerwehreinsatzberichten?

Feuerwehreinsatzkarte 2012

Es wurde untersucht, die Einsätze von Feuerwehren aus Deutschland im Jahr 2012 in Bezug zu den geographisch benachbarten Firmen zu bringen, um Gründe für Betriebsunterbrechnungen zu verstehen.
Aus dieser Fragestellung entstand eine interaktive Anwendung, die Aufschlüsse über Schwerpunkte und einzelne Vorfälle gibt. Zusätzlich zu der thematischen Sortierung als auch zur Verortung der Einsätze wurde eine Heat Map als Kalender eingesetzt, die deutlich aufzeigt, wann mit potenziellen Betriebsunterbrechungen zu rechnen ist.

Welche statistisch signifikanten Begriffe sind in einer Branche vertreten?

Die Abbildung nutzt den Reingold-Tilford Algorithmus für eine Darstellung der statistisch signifikanten Begriffe von Firmen, die einer Branche zugehören. Die Abbildung zeigt nur die 20 wichtigsten Begriffe von ausgewählten Branchen. Informationen zur Erstellung dieser Abbildungen mit der D3.js Visualisierung erhalten Sie hier. Mehr Informationen zur dynamischen Branchenklassifikation finden Sie hier.

Wie viele Ereignisse mit Stichtag gab es täglich zu den insgesamt 2 Mio. Firmen aus dem Handelsregister in 2012?

Die Tageswerte der insgesamt 500.000 Einzelwerte können Sie abrufen, wenn Sie mit dem Mauszeiger über einem Kalendertag stehen bleiben. Sie können die eingebettete Seite auch über den folgenden Verweis aufrufen: Heatmap. Falls Sie keine Abbildung sehen können, ist Ihr Browser nicht HTML5 kompatibel. Hier können Sie eine statische Version ansehen.

Das Handelsregister weist für das Jahr 2012 etwas mehr als eine halbe Million Termine auf, an denen handelsregisterlich relevante Veränderungen bei den registrierten Firmen in Kraft treten. Allein am 20.12.2012 sind es über 3.000 am Tag. Aus einer solchen Übersicht lässt sich das Muster ableiten, dass viele Trigger Events um den März sowie Dezember entstehen sollten. In diesen Zeiträumen sollte man sich auf Veränderungen bei den eigenen Kunden und Partnern einstellen.

Informationen zur Erstellung dieser Abbildung mit D3.js von Mike Bostock erhalten Sie hier.

3,8 Mio. Betriebe in einer Grafik

Wie verteilen sich 3,8 Millionen Betriebe auf Deutschlands Kreise und kreisfreie Städte? Wir haben die Daten der statistischen Ämter des Bundes und der Länder befragt und visualisiert:

Die obige Abbildung nutzt D3’s Pack Layout Algorithmus für eine Darstellung der 3.810.594 Betrieben (31.12.2009) nach Kreisen und kreisfreien Städten.
Es wird sofort ersichtlich, welche Verdichtung in den Metropolen der Republik vorliegt. Die Daten stammen vom Statistischen Bundesamt.